Winter break dates by province and board
| Province / territory | Board or calendar | Break (as published) | Last day of classes | First day back |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ontario | Toronto DSB | Dec 21 – Jan 1 | not stated | Mon, Jan 4, 2027 |
| Ontario | Peel DSB | Dec 21 – Jan 1 | not stated | not stated |
| Ontario | Ottawa-Carleton DSB | check the board's calendar | — | — |
| Alberta | Calgary Board of Education | Dec 19 – Jan 3 | Fri, Dec 18, 2026 | Mon, Jan 4, 2027 |
| Alberta | Edmonton Public Schools | Dec 21 – 31 (Jan 1 is a holiday) | not stated | not stated |
| British Columbia | Vancouver School Board | Dec 21 – Jan 1 | Fri, Dec 18, 2026 | Mon, Jan 4, 2027 |
| British Columbia | Surrey Schools | Dec 21 – Jan 1 | not stated | not stated |
| Quebec | Centres de services scolaires | check your centre's calendar | — | — |
| Manitoba | Winnipeg School Division | Dec 21 – Jan 1 | Fri, Dec 18, 2026 | Mon, Jan 4, 2027 |
| Saskatchewan | Regina Public Schools | Dec 21 – 31 | Fri, Dec 18, 2026 | Mon, Jan 4, 2027 |
| Saskatchewan | Saskatoon Public Schools | Dec 21 – Jan 1 | not stated | Mon, Jan 4, 2027 |
| Nova Scotia | Halifax Regional Centre for Education | Dec 22 – Jan 1 (provincial) | Fri, Dec 18, 2026 | Mon, Jan 4, 2027 |
| New Brunswick | All districts (provincial calendar) | — | Fri, Dec 18, 2026 | Mon, Jan 4, 2027 |
| Prince Edward Island | Provincial calendar (PSB and CSLF) | — | Fri, Dec 18, 2026 | Mon, Jan 4, 2027 |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | NLSchools | — | Tue, Dec 22, 2026 | Mon, Jan 4, 2027 |
| Yukon | Territorial calendar | Dec 21 – Jan 1 (some schools to Jan 4) | not stated | not stated |
| Northwest Territories | Yellowknife Education District No. 1 | Dec 21 – Jan 1 | not stated | not stated |
| Nunavut | Territorial calendar | varies by school | Dec 17 – 22 (by school) | Jan 4 – 6 (by school) |
"Not stated" means the board's calendar shows the break but does not print the last day or the return day separately; a professional development day can sit next to a break, so we do not fill those cells in by guesswork. Where a calendar could not be read or the dates were not published as one calendar for the whole region, the row says to check the calendar. Each board name links to its own calendar, which is the final word for your school.
Count the days: the last day of classes at the largest boards is — days away; the first day back is — days away.
Who decides the dates
There is no single national school calendar. Each province and territory decides how much of the calendar it fixes and how much it leaves to school boards:
- Ontario: each board writes its own calendar, submits it to the Ministry of Education by March 1 and needs ministry approval. That is why the Toronto and Peel calendars both say "Ministry approved" and match each other on the two-week break from December 21 to January 1.
- British Columbia: under the School Calendar Regulation, each board sets its calendar after consulting parents and staff, then submits it to the minister.
- Alberta and Saskatchewan: boards and school divisions set their own calendars, so Calgary's break starts on the weekend of December 19 while Regina's calendar lists the vacation as December 21 to 31.
- Manitoba: the province fixes spring break (March 29 to April 2, 2027) and publishes each division's Christmas break dates in one table.
- Nova Scotia: the province sets a mandatory holiday break (December 22 to January 1 for 2026–27), and regional centres place their professional days around it.
- New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island: one provincial calendar covers every school.
- Newfoundland and Labrador: NLSchools publishes one official calendar for the whole province.
- Territories: Yukon and Nunavut publish territorial calendars, but schools can differ. Nunavut lists the last day and first day for each school, and some Yukon schools stay closed until January 4.
Professional days around the break
A professional development (PD or PA) day next to the break can add a day off for students. For 2026–27 the official calendars show two such cases:
- Halifax (HRCE): Monday, December 21 is a Teacher Professional Practice Day with no classes in any school, so the last day for students is Friday, December 18 even though the provincial break starts December 22.
- Prince Edward Island: Monday, December 21 is a Professional Learning Day with no classes; the last instructional day is December 18.
The Toronto, Vancouver, Calgary, Winnipeg and Regina calendars show no PD day touching the break. Toronto's next elementary PA day is Friday, January 15, 2027. Catholic and French-language boards publish their own calendars, which can differ from the public board in the same city, so check yours if your child attends one.
Christmas, Boxing Day and New Year's Day
The statutory holidays all fall inside the break this year, so they do not add extra days off school:
- Christmas Day is Friday, December 25, 2026, a stat holiday in every province and territory. See Christmas Day in Canada for what is open.
- Boxing Day is Saturday, December 26, 2026. It is a stat holiday only in Ontario and for federally regulated workplaces, and banks, Canada Post and the TSX close on Monday, December 28 instead. Details on the Boxing Day page.
- New Year's Day is Friday, January 1, 2027, a stat holiday everywhere, which gives many working parents a long weekend before school restarts. See New Year's Day 2027 and New Year's Eve.
Holiday pay rules for parents who work through the break are on the statutory holidays page. For the rest of the year's long weekends, see long weekends in Canada.
Planning travel and child care
- Book around the real last day. Because most boards break on the same weekend, families across the country travel on Saturday, December 19 and come home on Sunday, January 3. If your school has a PD day on December 21 (Halifax, PEI), you gain a Monday to travel on.
- Watch the return date if you travel north or to Newfoundland. NLSchools classes run to Tuesday, December 22, and several Nunavut schools reopen on January 5 or 6.
- Plan the in-between weekdays. For most working parents the gap is December 21 to 24 and December 29 to 31: seven weekdays that are not stat holidays. Holiday day camps run by cities and community organizations often register in the fall, so check early.
- Child-care centres follow their own calendars. A licensed daycare is not bound by the school board's dates, and many close on the stat holidays only. School-age programs inside schools often close when the school does; ask the operator.
- Keep an eye on storm days. A snow day just before the break does not move the break. Boards announce closures on their websites and social media the same morning.
Common mix-ups
- "Winter break" in February. Saskatoon Public Schools calls its February 15 to 19, 2027 week "Winter Break" and the December one "Holiday Break". Some Alberta and Saskatchewan divisions also have a February break; that is a different week.
- Public vs Catholic board. In the same city the two boards can start or end on different days.
- Break dates vs school days. A calendar that says "Winter Break December 21 to January 1" does not tell you whether Friday, December 18 is a school day or a PD day. Check the board's day-by-day calendar.
- Old calendars online. Search results often show last year's calendar. Make sure the PDF says 2026–2027.
Frequently asked questions
When does winter break start in 2026?
At most Canadian boards the last day of classes is Friday, December 18, 2026 and the break runs from Monday, December 21 to Friday, January 1. Calgary's calendar counts the break from Saturday, December 19.
When do kids go back to school after Christmas 2026?
At almost every board with published dates, classes resume Monday, January 4, 2027. Some Nunavut schools reopen January 5 or 6, and a few Yukon schools are closed until January 4 inclusive.
Is winter break two weeks in Ontario?
Yes for the boards we checked. The Toronto and Peel 2026–27 calendars, both ministry approved, show the break from December 21, 2026 to January 1, 2027, with Toronto students back on January 4.
When is the last day of school before Christmas in Newfoundland?
NLSchools' official calendar gives Tuesday, December 22, 2026 as the last day before the Christmas break, with school reopening Monday, January 4, 2027.
Is December 21 a school day in Nova Scotia?
Not in Halifax: HRCE has a Teacher Professional Practice Day with no classes on December 21. The province's mandatory holiday break then runs from December 22 to January 1.
Do Quebec schools have the same break?
Each centre de services scolaire sets its own calendar. We could not confirm a single calendar for Montreal, so check your centre's 2026–27 calendar.
Is Boxing Day a school holiday?
It falls on Saturday, December 26, 2026, during the break, so it makes no difference to school this year.
Official sources
- Toronto District School Board — Key dates 2026–27
- Peel District School Board — 2026–2027 regular school year calendar
- Ontario — School year calendars
- Calgary Board of Education — 2026–2027 instructional calendar
- Edmonton Public Schools — 2026–27 school year calendar
- Vancouver School Board — 2026–27 school calendar (Douglas Elementary)
- Surrey Schools — 2026–27 district calendar
- Manitoba Education — School division calendars
- Winnipeg School Division — 2026–27 school calendar
- Saskatoon Public Schools — Important dates
- Nova Scotia EECD — 2026–27 school calendar
- HRCE — Significant dates 2026–27
- New Brunswick — School calendar
- Prince Edward Island — School calendar 2026–27
- NLSchools — School year calendar 2026–2027
- Yukon Education — 2026–27 school calendar
- Yellowknife Education District No. 1 — 2026–2027 year at a glance
- Nunavut — 2026–27 territorial school calendar